AD6802 – Artist Research – Ansel Adams

Whilst I have been looking at landscape photography there has been one main name that has kept coming up. Ansel Adams was, I feel a pioneer in the landscape world. There is one image that influences me most at the moment.

This image was called the Tetons and the snake river. This is something I would like to look into more as I am shooting rivers. The lighting is the most key part of the image in my opinion. The way the light hits the water forces a viewer to look at the water and follow it towards the mountains. The light is then on the mountain tops meaning a viewer has been forced to navigate through the image from top to bottom.

The river also forces a natural leading line through the image.

Leading lines are something I like to incorporate into work I like working with shapes and this often lends itself to black and white. This is something I need to look into as I will be shooting in colour for this module.

Ansel Adams has so many images to choose from but this is a selection of my favourites. I like how the sun beams shine through the image and highlight certain areas. I also like how the water looks like a mirror and is so motionless. It shows all of the reflections and adds another layer to the image.

Leave a comment